Murphy Advises NJ Residents Not To Travel Out Of State as “Second Wave” Is Upon Us

TRENTON –  There are now only 8 states not included in New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy’s 14-day quarantine list.

This week, Murphy added more states and gave residents a warning not to travel out of state.

“Common sense includes not traveling outside of New Jersey for the time being, unless you have to cross state lines for work or school, for worship or some other essential travel,” Murphy said Thursday. “As we know, and Judy and I have spoken to this many times, Thanksgiving is just three weeks away so I encourage everyone to follow the CDC’s guidelines and plan for a smaller dinner with your immediate household family only. We do not want anyone’s thanksgiving to lead to more cases of COVID-19. Remember, public health creates economic health. It happens in that order. For us to get to the stronger, fairer and more resilient New Jersey when this pandemic ends, we need to take action right now.”

Murphy advised individuals traveling to New Jersey from states or territories with significant community spread of COVID-19 to quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state or territory. The updated advisory includes the addition of Oregon and Washington, bringing the total to 43 states and territories. The travel advisory applies to any person arriving from a state or territory with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

As of Wednesday, November 4, there are currently 43 states and territories that meet the criteria stated above: Alabama; Alaska; Arizona; Arkansas; California; Colorado; Florida; Georgia; Guam; Iowa; Idaho; Indiana; Illinois; Kansas; Kentucky; Louisiana; Maryland; Massachusetts; Michigan; Minnesota; Missouri; Mississippi; Montana; North Carolina; North Dakota; Nebraska; New Mexico; Nevada; Ohio; Oklahoma; Oregon;  Puerto Rico; Rhode Island; South Carolina; South Dakota; Tennessee; Texas; Utah; Virginia; Wisconsin; West Virginia; Washington; and Wyoming.

Neighboring states Connecticut, Pennsylvania, and Delaware now meet the criteria for New Jersey’s travel advisory. Due to the interconnected nature of the region and mode of transport between New Jersey and the three states, a 14-day quarantine is not reasonable in all instances. Non-essential travel to and from these states, however, is highly discouraged at this time. Connecticut is also discouraging non-essential travel to and from New Jersey, but are not mandating that travelers quarantine due to the interconnected nature of the region and economy. Massachusetts will be included on New Jersey’s advisory, but not Connecticut’s based on the same criteria.

“As a second wave of COVID-19 has begun across the nation and our state, we must do everything possible to stop the further spread of COVID-19.” said Governor Murphy. “It remains our top priority to ensure the safety of New Jersey residents, and we ask individuals arriving from these 43 states to get tested for COVID-19 and self-quarantine for 14 days.”